My End of Year Reflection on my Edtech Journey

I have had an interesting week, and to say the least, I have come to the realization that not everyone will be as enthusiastic (as people have defined me) about educational technology as I am. I understand that everyone is driven by different goals and areas to work on and may have more pressing issues to address. This is reality and something I should try not to take to heart. I often wonder or ask myself…

What should I be doing with this knowledge I am attaining?

How do I encourage/motivate others to try at least 1 new thing in edtech without scaring them away?

How do you detach your emotions when attempting to convince others to try something new and it isn’t well received?

How do you take one step back and convince yourself you are not Superwoman and to not take on the world?

How do I change the way I approach others about technology so I don’t sound too enthusiastic about what I am learning in grad school?

How do I manage to find the time to support teachers who are interested in using the Web 2.0 tools I have shared?

Where do I go from here? How do I not overwhelm myself, but continue to learn about the many Web 2.0 tools available for use in the classroom?

These are just some of the many questions I ask myself through my edtech journey. This has not been an easy journey. I know there are many educators out there who go above and beyond in many different areas of study. I am so inspired by the many educators I follow on Twitter who are very knowledgeable (even more than me!) on a variety of tech tools and pedagogy. I appreciate the support and encouragement I receive from colleagues both at school and in my grad school course. Thanks a million!

Chelsea

2 thoughts on “My End of Year Reflection on my Edtech Journey

  1. Systemic Change Division

    Your words ring true to every learning technology leader in the school system and beyond, Chelsea. Not everyone is ready to adopt, grow and advance with these ideas – some even think we are just talking about tools or technopoly. I find that after a good try at educating them from our established fields, our efforts add more value to others who can thrive with them. Be kind to yourself, know where the high returns on investing your energy and knowledge work, and be patient.. not everyone can benefit from what you know but those who can (and the learners they serve) will… 🙂 Hang in there!

    Reply
    1. Chelsea Post author

      Thank you for your kind words of wisdom Dr. Kowch 🙂 I really appreciate your support. I look forward to further discussing this with you this summer in your course.

What do you think?

