My Educational Journey in Ed Tech

Gone are the days when younger students need to be taught how to use Web 2.0 tools. In today’s classroom, students as young as age 7 or 8 already know how to access, create and edit a PowerPoint slide. They can find images on the Internet, use mobile apps and navigate websites. 9 years ago, I would have thought this was a possibility, but never a reality. My educational focus was on language acquisition and I didn’t give technology a second thought. As I reflect upon my learning and my growth as a teacher, I would like to thank my first mentor Dan Molton (my principal at the time) for encouraging me to take on technology as a TPGP goal. He was always technology innovative and a great personal motivator. He made you feel like you made a difference in other kids lives and he reaffirmed that the work you were doing was great. I would also like to thank Ted (our tech lead at the time) for approaching me to assist with tech lead in the school. He must have seen a hidden talent or passion that I did not see at the time, but see now. He showed me how to lead a tech committee and explained the different roles of an ed tech. If it weren’t for these two mentors in my life, I don’t think I’d be well versed and passionate in technology as I am now.

It blows my mind to see how much technology has changed my life and my students life in learning. No longer are the days you spend countless hours showing students how to find images on Kidpix, but you can now ask them to create an oral presentation where they can use PowerPoint to support their ideas and bring it in on USB. Students and teachers feel comfortable using different technologies and schools are better equipped supporting technology use. This has inspired me to pursue educational technology at the graduate level. To all of you, I thank you!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

What do you think?

